jump to navigation

Using Del.Icio.Us November 20, 2005

Posted by Gary Slinger in Blogging, RSS.
trackback

I finally got around to installing plug-ins to all my browsers, both on my laptop and on my desktop. I still use IE, because (a) I always have(!), and (b) I access some corporate applications that simply work better in IE. For my reading and blogging, however, I’m a happy user of Firefox, and have also been playing with Flock — in fact, I’m writing this post from within Flock now. I like that Flock just needs me to hit one button, nice and clear, on the menu bar, to get stuff into del.icio.us. I have a bookmarklet for IE that does the same. Firefox, I choose to use a plugin, although I’ve got the bookmarklet as well. The plugin is more functional, but you have to right-click I can live with it.

In any event. having made it easy to push links, with comments, into del.icio.us, I’ve also configured it to post my daily links into the blog.

Why?

Well, personal convenience for a start – the blog is going to turn into a personal knowledge repository, that I can readily reference and search. I subscribe to my own feeds, using Newsgator and Outlook, so I get a copy of every post I make as an email. Those sit in the offline file with the rest of my email, that I can refer to wherever I am, and that I can index using the MSN Desktop Search or the Google Desktop. I see a lot of different websites, most days, like most people. Some will generate “real? posts to the blog, others will just be “background information?. This makes an easy way for me to remember that “oh yes, I read an article on that subject a while back…? and then find it again.

So, if you see a post full of links, brief notes, and some tags, with no substantive comment in and of itself, you now know what it is.

Some reference links:

Firefox Browser

del.icio.us plugin for Firefox

del.icio.us bookmarklets

technorati tags: , , , , ,

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

